Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I was born in Kenya in the city of Eldoret, which is where my family stayed until I was four years old. As many Kenyans interested in study-abroad opportunities, one of my father’s top choices was Canada. After starting his graduate studies at the University of Alberta in Edmonton, my mother, my older sister and I soon followed. Even as a small child, the culture shock, the cold weather and the hardship of learning a new language hit me with full force; however, only after a few years, Edmonton started feeling like home. We loved living in the community of Michener Park, which was a residence neighborhood for couples and students with families. The area was full of international students with children my age, which was just what my sister and I needed to become comfortable in a new and different place. Fast forward to graduating high school, I followed in my dad’s footsteps and attended the University of Alberta. There I studied a Bachelor of Science in Environmental and Conservation Sciences. While in my undergrad, I found myself participating in a study abroad in England and an international co-op experience in Kenya.

These were life-changing, fun-filled experiences that had me hooked on travel from the word go! I loved seeing and experiencing new people and places and learning more about myself through other cultural lenses.

But the best part of all were the friends and lifelong relationships I built along the way. Once I graduated, I knew that I had to continue exploring and so the opportunity to teach English in South Korea felt like the perfect fit. Four years of teaching and a pandemic later, I had the wonderful opportunity to join the University of Lethbridge, as an International Recruiter.

With this position, not only can the adventure continue, but I can help others on similar paths of exploration and learning, discover what life has to offer.

How long have you been at ULethbridge and what do you do here?
I have been at the University of Lethbridge for one year and a half. I work in the International Centre where, along with a team of wonderful recruiters, I work to recruit international students to study undergraduate programs as well as English language programs.

What's the best part of your job?
Apart from travelling and networking with students, counsellors and educational providers, I enjoy the constant learning, adapting and collaboration involved in my role. Working toward a collective goal, and doing my part to add value towards that, is really rewarding.

What do you enjoy doing outside of work?
When I am not snuggled up on the couch glued to a crime drama, then I am out watching live music or walking my dog, Sammy.