Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I have called Treaty 7 territory home for the majority of my life. I was born in Calgary and went to grade school in Mossleigh and High River where we lived for most of my childhood. I moved to Lethbridge when I was 17 and attended the University of Lethbridge. I took a break during my studies to travel to Bolivia and participate in a cultural exchange program through Ghost River Rediscovery with a group of urban First Nations, Métis and Inuit youth from across Canada. When I returned, I changed my major to Native American Studies and worked as a research assistant sourcing online Michif language resources. I also worked at the casino as a blackjack dealer for the majority of my degree and I was president of the Native American Studies association for one year. During this period of time, I was also a featured artist in the Great Northern Arts Festival  in Inuvik, NWT twice. In 2009, I won the 2 Dimensional Artist Choice Award, 2 Dimensional Peoples Choice Award and 2 Dimensional Most Promising Artist Award.

When I graduated with my degree, I moved to Whitehorse, Yukon and had the opportunity to live with one of my art mentors and work while experiencing life in the north.

I decided to move back to Lethbridge, where I worked in banking until landing a job at Lethbridge College as the First Nations, Métis, and Inuit (FNMI) Academic Advisor where I worked for 2.5 years before moving over to the University for my academic advising position in Health Sciences.

How long have you been at ULethbridge and what do you do here?
I started as an Academic Advisor in the Faculty of Health Sciences eight years ago and I have advised students in the Bachelor of Health Sciences (Addictions Counselling, Aboriginal Health, Public Health) and the Bachelor of Therapeutic Recreation degree programs.

What's the best part of your job?
The best part of my job is watching students realize their potential, seeing their resilience, watching them overcome all odds and crossing that convocation stage. Being a student is very hard mentally, financially and emotionally, and watching students persevere through life’s challenges to meet their goals is a gift. I feel fortunate to get to be part of their journey no matter how small or large my impact may be.

What do you enjoy doing outside of work?
I am a mom of two wonderful children ages three and six. I am an artist and have started my own illustration and creative home business. I love spending time with my husband and kids. I love paddle boarding and camping. I love beading and practicing/teaching/reclaiming other aspects of my Métis heritage.