Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I am originally from Central Alberta - Red Deer area. I came to the University of Lethbridge via Red Deer College and completed a combined Undergraduate degree in Education and Science. I was extremely fortunate to begin working for the University as an undergraduate student for the Faculty of Education and have worked periodically for the University since then in a few different capacities but always with a focus on supporting teaching on campus.

How long have you been at the U of L and what do you do here?
I have worked for the University on and off since 1995 with the past 10 years being in the Teaching Centre (formerly know as the CRDC) as first a Teaching Development Coordinator and most recently the Associate Director.

What’s the best part of your job?
The best part of my job by far is helping faculty change and improve their teaching to better meet the needs of their students. We are very fortunate to be involved at many levels within the institution in supporting teaching and I am very fortunate to get to work with some amazing educators on our campus on a daily basis. We are also very fortunate to have a awesome team of individuals within our office with a wide range of skills which helps make coming to work everyday easy and enjoyable.

What are you most excited about moving into the Fall semester?
The transition to at-home learning as a result of COVID created a huge number of new challenges for our office (like everyone else on campus). While I think we adapted to the changing needs quite well, I am happy to move back to campus and support the face-to-face and blended learning that will be taking place this fall. Getting to see people who I haven’t see (outside of Zoom) in 18 months has been fantastic and renewing that sense of community on campus and within our office is something that is very much welcomed.

What do you like to do in your spare time?
Outside of work, our family are avid boaters and we spend as much time on the water as the weather will allow. If the weather is good, you can usually find me at a lake somewhere soaking up the sun and enjoying a surf with my family.