Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I was born and raised in Hyderabad, Pakistan and completed my high school back in Pakistan. I came to Canada as an international student in 2005. I joined ULethbridge in 2008 and graduated in 2011 with a Bachelors of Management, majoring in Human Resource Management and Labour Relations.

When I reminisce about my time as an international student, I have utmost respect and gratitude for the faculty members and, in particular, the international student department for offering a welcoming and supportive environment to me and many other international students.

The overall experience at ULethbridge equipped me with a strong foundation and that led me to my very first job with Alberta Health Services (AHS). I joined the AHS HR Department in the South Zone and worked as an HR Assistant, HR Advisor and a Senior HR Advisor. I returned to the University as a Senior HR Consultant.

It’s a great feeling to be back where I started my journey as an international student.

How long have you been at ULethbridge and what do you do here?
I joined the HR department in June 2022. I am proud to say that I have joined a team of dedicated, compassionate and professional colleagues. In particular, my fellow colleague Nancy Pastoor has been a tremendous support ensuring I have a smooth transition to the University.

My functional responsibility as a Senior HR Consultant is to provide consultative and advisory support to the management on all aspects of human resources management including but not limited to: human resource and strategic planning; performance management; collective agreement and employment policy interpretation; grievance management; recruitment and selection; workforce planning, job classification and workplace investigations.

What's the best part of your job?
In my role, every day is unique and brings different challenges. You can say that there’s never a dull moment in the life of HR professionals. The best part of my job is that I get to work and meet with great people. This helps my growth both professionally and personally.

What do you enjoy doing outside of work?
I am married and have two beautiful kids, Inayah and Ebrahim, and I love spending time with my family. You’ll see us in one of the parks as spring is approaching. 😊

In addition, I volunteer at a local not-for-profit organization where we help newcomers find accommodation, work and help them integrate overall into Canadian society. Lastly, I enjoy partnering with other not-for-profit organizations to foster education, learning, respect and to build bridges.