Tell us a little bit about yourself.
Prior to joining ULethbridge, I was living and working  year round in Waterton Lakes National Park doing event/group management and marketing for a group of hotels. I spent 10 summers there and five years, year round. I grew up in Airdrie, Alberta and after high school, I worked a winter at Fortress Ski Hill and then went to Germany for a year where I worked in a small hotel on the Baltic Sea that was owned by a family that my best friend was a nanny for. After returning from Germany, I attended SAIT where I obtained my diploma in Hotel and Restaurant Management and did a summer internship in Waterton and would return every summer. I then went to ULethbridge where I continued to work in Waterton during the summers. As part of my degree, I did an exchange semester to Aguascalientes, Mexico and then travelled extensively throughout Mexico and taught English. I returned to Waterton and stayed there for five years. I eventually got tired of mountain life and needed a change.  I wanted to live in Lethbridge again but could not find a compatible job position, but found the posting for the ULethbridge Calgary Campus. I applied and got the job. I moved back home to Airdrie/Calgary and the rest is history.

How long have you been at ULethbridge and what do you do here?
I have been working at the U of L since 2008. I am currently wearing multiple hats but my main and first role was academic advisor. Two years ago I started to do the Health Services Management (HSM) program coordination and have been acting manager since March 2022.

What's the best part of your job?
The best part of my job is helping students work towards their goals and watching them accomplish them. My favorite work day of the year is convocation when we get to see our students cross the stage! I am a natural helper and enjoy making things easier on others.

What do you enjoy doing outside of work?
Outside of work I am married, a mother to a busy and beautiful five-year-old girl, and we also have a pandemic doodle puppy. We love travelling to Mexico, camping, spending time in the mountains and outdoors. I used to knit and have plans to pick that up again this fall or winter. I am an iced-coffee addict and also struggle keeping anything green alive, although I keep trying and won't give up.