Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I’m Blackfoot and grew up on the Blood Reserve – Kainai First Nation and have lived in Lethbridge for almost 30 years. Prior to moving to Lethbridge, my husband and I lived in Medicine Hat for eight years, where we obtained our post-secondary education at the college level. The University is what brought us back “home.” Upon completion of my degree, I was employed as the Manager for Treaty 7 Housing Authority in Lethbridge for six years. I really wanted to work for my home community, so I took a job with Blood Tribe Administration and was employed as the Senior Finance Officer for a couple of years until the opportunity of my current job came up.

How long have you been at ULethbridge and what do you do here?
I’ve been employed with the University since April 2007 and will be receiving my 15-year Long Service award next month. I actually work in the same program/area (Indigenous Governance and Business Management – IGBM) that I was in when I was a student. At that time, the program was B.E.S.S. (Business Enterprises and Self-governing Systems of Indian, Inuit and Metis Peoples). The program then changed to First Nations Governance and is now IGBM. I have a number of roles and responsibilities and programs I oversee. I coordinate the Elders in Residence (a program that’s been in place since 2008), a tutorial program, and the Indigenous Youth Mentorship program. I also assist with program development, recruitment and marketing of our IGBM programs, student support and retention.

What's the best part of your job?
It’s hard to pick one. I really enjoy helping our students. It’s great to meet students for the first time and then getting to know them throughout their time here. And it’s so wonderful to see them complete their program, knowing how much effort they’ve put into obtaining their degree. I’ve kept in touch with many of the students after they’ve graduated. It’s a pleasure working with our Elders; I’ve learned a lot from them over the years and each time I’m with them I learn something. I’ve assisted with coordinating the Malaysia Work Study and was fortunate to be a chaperone with the program for eight years (pre-Covid). We’re hoping to be able to continue the program soon. It really makes a big difference when you have supportive colleagues you work closely with.

What do you enjoy doing outside of work?
I enjoy travelling, even if it’s just to get away to the mountains for the weekend. Going to Malaysia inspired me to travel more and I’ve been blessed to have travelled throughout Southeast Asia.  Most of all, I enjoy being with my family and my two grandchildren.

Anything else you'd like to add?
In 2021, I was one of the Alumni Achievement Award recipients. I'm very honoured and proud to be a member of the University's Alumni Honour Society.