Tell us a little bit about yourself.
I grew up in Taber, Alberta and after graduating from high school, I worked at a jean boutique. I have always had a love for clothing and textiles so working with clothing as well as buying for the boutique was a great experience. After the boutique, a friend and I opened an antique shop, which also was fascinating. We also created a line of gift ware that we sold throughout Western Canada through the gift ware show in Edmonton.

How long have you been at ULethbridge and what do you do here?
I graduated from ULethbridge in 1993 with a BFA in Drama in Tech and Design. I have been employed at the University since January 1994 and did contract work until 1999. I was then hired as the Costume Shop Assistant which was my title until fall 2022 when I received a new position title as a Costume Technician.

I enjoy the diversity of the shows the department produces, as well as the ever-changing students coming through the program. One of my favourite shows was She Stoops To Conquer which was designed in my favorite time period — Georgian. The show was amazing and very enjoyable to build as we built most of the show and worked with lovely materials such as silk. A costume piece from another show that I also enjoyed working on was an Edwardian dress on which I did all the pintucking on and then created the skirt, so the tucks chevroned at 45-degree angles. Some costumes feel like a piece of art when they are completed, but we have to keep in mind that they have to be worn on stage.

What the best part of your job?
I look forward to the department's season, as well as the students finishing their degrees or starting their first year. Working at the University in costumes really has been a creative, collaborative and diverse position through the years. I sometimes have to pinch myself that I am able to do this for a living. I feel fortunate to have a passion and found an outlet for it.

What do you like to do outside of work?
My favourite activities outside of work are walking, hiking, cycling, snowshoeing and cross-country skiing, but mostly enjoying the outdoors with my family and lovely Sheltie. I also love to garden and enjoy my summers looking after the garden. Travelling is also high on my list of activities. We have two children living in eastern Canada and have taken the opportunity to see parts of Canada that we could not have imagined. It has been wonderful to visit with our kids and their partners and travel to places in Canada; it is a wonderful place to explore and see.