Tell us a little bit about yourself.
My family immigrated to Canada from the UK shortly after I was born. I grew up in Lethbridge and following high school, I attended ULethbridge for one semester. Unsure what I wanted to do, I did not continue. I followed my passion for racing bikes, often with one foot still planted in education, first at Lethbridge College and then back to ULethbridge. I still did not know what I wanted to pursue; I just knew I wanted to learn as much as I could. Cycling through different landscapes had piqued a curiosity to learn about the landforms and how they came to be — geography seemed like a great place to start.

How long have you been at ULethbridge and what do you do here?
I feel the University has been a second home to me, as my mum went back to school when I was in elementary school and then worked on campus. I would often come to campus with her, with the highlight, of course, being running down “The Worm” to UHall.

I began working at the University of Lethbridge in 1995 as a student working in the PE Facilities Equipment Room and then became full-time in 1997. I moved away in 2000 to further my education in GIS with a specialization in cartography. After six years in the industry, the lure of the University and the new Centre for Sport & Wellness drew me back in 2007 and I have been with Sport & Recreation Services ever since.

I oversee the Customer Service Centre and the software system the department uses for all program registrations, memberships, accounting and facility bookings. I am fortunate in my position that I get work with people, in Sport & Recreation Services but also all across campus.

What's the best part of your job?
Without a doubt, it's the people, specifically the students that work in Horns Recreation. I am grateful for the opportunity to work with these amazing students as they pass through their University experience and grow into themselves. I am always interested to see where they ultimately end up — there are so many great stories out there.

What do you enjoy doing outside of work?
I enjoy getting out on my bike and heading out exploring and taking on multi-day adventures where I can leave everything behind. I also try to spend as much time in my happy places with my family on the trails of Kimberley and the beaches of the Oregon coast.